Intimate culinary experiences in the heart of Cancale

[version française ici]

A cooking workshop that feels like an intimate get-together. That was my goal when I embarked on this in-home class idea.  So…here in ‘My Cancale Kitchen,’ we spend half the time cooking together, the other half tasting our creations and sharing our stories. It all happens in my home on “Le Port” in Cancale. We cook in my kitchen, sit down at my oak farm table, eat off my collection of Quimper faïence dinnerware…And if the occasion calls for it, I even pull out my great-grandmother’s silver!

Menus vary according to theme, season, and what looks freshest at the local markets and farm stands that week. I’m always open to new ideas if you don’t find exactly what you’re looking for. And be sure to let me know if there are any dietary restrictions! The small class size makes it easy to tailor the experience to different tastes and desires.

All classes are 70€ per person unless otherwise specified.  And feel free to contact me about specific dates and private classes! I can always add dates and private classes start at 4 people.

Hep! Hep! Hep! Hep! Hep!

LEARN TO MAKE BRETON CREPES AND GALETTES

If you were to name one food that symbolizes Brittany, it would be the galette de blé noir/galette de sarrasin, or buckwheat crêpe. In this workshop, you’ll learn to ‘turn’ your own galettes (and crêpes) so you can take your newfound crêpe-making skills back to your own kitchen. Then we’ll enjoy hot-off-the-griddle galettes and crêpes washed down with local cider.

TIME: 11 am – 2 pm

DATES:

Monday June 10
FULL
Tuesday June 18
Monday June 24
Thursday July 11
Monday July 15
Friday July 19
Sunday July 21
Monday July 29
Sunday August 4
Thursday August 8
Tuesday August 20
Sunday August 25

PARIS-BREST MASTER CLASS

Paris-Brest is a classic French pastry that was invented at the beginning of the 20th century in honor of a bike race that ran from Paris to Brest, the westernmost city of Brittany (and of France). In this totally hands-on class, you’ll learn to make the wheel-shaped confections filled with praline-flavored pastry cream and enjoy a master class on choux pastry. Other recipes include gougères (savory hors d’oeuvres) and gnocchis à la Parisienne for a full, savory meal to enjoy before tasting your pastry creations.

TIME: 11 am – 2 pm

DATES:
Sunday June 30
Thursday July 18
Friday August 2
Saturday August 17

KOUIGN AMANN + BRETON DESSERTS

In this class I’ll draw on my pastry chef experience so we can delve into all things buttery, caramel-y and divinely, distinctively ‘Breton. . We’ll start by making  kouigns amanns (flaky, traditional Breton cakes that have taken the pastry world by stor), move on to glistening seasonal  tarte statins. Then it’s time for some sea salt caramel…YBrittany is where it all started for salted caramel, thanks to the salted Breton butter the region’s pastry chefs have always used to make their luscious amber confections.

TIME: 11 am – 2 pm

DATES:
Tuesday June 11
Monday June 17
Sunday June 23
Saturday July 13
Tuesday August 6
Monday August 26

BEST OF CANCALE

– What looks good today?

The best cooks start their meal planning with that question, then go from there. We’ll follow their lead to prepare Américaine-Armoricaine dishes using the very best local, seasonal products from the markets (and even the supermarkets!) in and around Cancale.’

TIME: 11 am – 2 pm, or 6 – 9 pm

DATES
Sunday June 2 (6 pm)
Thursday June 6 (11 am)

Tuesday July 23 (11 am)
Sunday July 28 (11 am)
Sunday August 11
Tuesday August 27

Hep! Hep! Hep! Hep! Hep!

Got a specific question? Need a quote for a private event? Have a request for a new theme? Send me an email here!